Springer thesis awards for ALICE theses

The best ALICE thesis winners Simone Schuchmann and Andrea Festanti have also received the Springer Theses award. The ALICE thesis award committee and the ALICE Matters team congratulate them for this recognition of their excellence!

This is the first year that the ALICE thesis award committee has supported the nominations for the Springer Theses award. This opportunity is extended annually to a strictly limited number of high-ranking research departments in the physical sciences and engineering. ALICE now has the possibility to send up to two nominations each year. Since this is a great opportunity to further help the careers of young ALICE members, the thesis committee has decided to nominate the ALICE thesis award winners. “I think that the success of Simone and Andrea shows that our students compete at the highest level in particle and nuclear physics and I am confident that others can follow their example” – says Paul Kuijer, Chair of the ALICE thesis award committee.

The official award ceremony of the ALICE Best Thesis awards took place on the 8th of April during the last ALICE week. Both Simone and Andrea presented the results of their work in front of the Collaboration Board. After that they received crystal plaques and they were congratulated by Paul Kuijer and by Peter Braun-Munzinger, Chair of the Collaboration Board.

Simone Schuchmann

Andrea Festanti

Alice Matters